These Minnesota Teachers of The Year Agree: Erin Murphy is the right choice for Governor on Tuesday

Image for post
Image for post

As Minnesota Teachers of the Year, we have collectively gained a unique perspective on the importance our choice for Governor carries for Minnesota’s schools. We have already seen a Tim Pawlenty administration that was disastrous for our students and the communities we teach in, and we believe we need a candidate who will not only defeat Pawlenty in the general election, but also work tirelessly to make Minnesota public schools the best that they can be.

There are two great choices in front of us, including the team of Tim Walz and Peggy Flanagan, who are smart and compassionate. They have been endorsed by Education Minnesota, and would, no doubt, serve our state well.

However, as a group of teachers who have been recognized for our skill, advocacy, and leadership in education, we believe that Erin Murphy and Erin Maye-Quade have earned our full endorsement and support in the August 14th primary for Governor.

Erin Murphy has been passionate about education, working and advocating for our public schools for well over a decade. She has lead by listening, consistently soliciting teacher input while visiting schools, conferences, and meetings of stakeholders while serving in the State House. While serving as the house majority leader, Erin worked on both sides of the aisle to begin to restore public education funding that had been decimated under Pawlenty. Representative Maye-Quade has done similar work during her time in office, connecting with student-leaders and hearing their thoughts for better and safer schools.

Erin Murphy and Erin Maye-Quade are the proven leaders our schools need, leaders who will not just stand in the way of another damaging Pawlenty administration, but who will lead courageously to address the racial achievement gap in schools, work to fully fund the programs students need to be successful, who are proud to stand against the NRA and for the safety of our students, who will address the issues leading to a teacher shortage in our state, and fight for equity and justice in housing, economics, policing, and healthcare to support our students and their families.

Minnesota Teachers of the Year

Ryan Vernosh 2010

Katy Smith 2011

Jackie Roehl 2012

Megan Olivia Hall 2013

Tom Rademacher 2014

Amy Hewett-Olatunde, Ed.D. 2015

Abdul Wright 2016

Mike Smart 2007

Written by

Author of ‘It Won’t Be Easy.’ 2014 Minnesota Teacher of the Year. @mrtomrad on everything.

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store